Hero

Hero

“When you were five years old, who was your hero? What do you think of that person today?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us a HERO.”

Hello there people of the blog sphere!
Today’s daily prompt, as you can see above, is about heroes.

I can’t really recall who was my hero at the age of five, but my aunt was the person I looked up to.
She was very close to me at the time, and still is. Working at the local radio, she was very sincere and enjoyed her work because it was her dream job.
My mom would tell me about the days she spent playing hostess to a show in front of the mirror with a brush in her hand. She was about eight or seven at the time.
She also has the warmest close-to-heart voice I ever heard.

She defied the look of the society who was very enclosed and somehow narrow minded about women, especially young beautiful ones, working in such a public place and be recognized by name and voice almost everywhere around the town.

It was half her own power and the rest my uncle’s encouragement, may he rest in peace.
What made her my role model, and my hero is the fact she was doing what she enjoyed and loved and was good at.
As kids, we all look up at celebrities, athletes and successful people because we see in them the figure of those who followed their dreams and did something in their life.
Even at a very young age, the picture of my aunt spending an overnighter at the radio doing a night talk and still returning home happy and the grin on her face left a great impact on me despite my terrible memory 🙂

Another thing about her is that she still has the dreamer flavor to her.
She is about 43 now and still pursuing her dream in becoming a famous writer and poet.
I did catch the reading and writing bug from her 🙂
Most women her age in our community have all lost their smiles and dreams in trying to raise the kids, keep up with the day job and doing the dishes.
Not that there is anything wrong with any of those things, but most of them have lost the twinkle in their eyes.
I do not wish to grow to that kind of a woman.
I want to grow with my dreams still alive, and my eyes still bright just like my hero did 🙂

What about you guys? Would you not introduce me to your heroes, please?

Check out what other bloggers said:

  1. Morning milk delivery | Vintage Photography
  2. covet | yi-ching lin photography
  3. Where were You – the Power of Forgiving | A Teacher’s Blog
  4. Siegfried Sassoon, Hopelessness and Iraq | As I please
  5. Feeding The Monster | The Jittery Goat
  6. daily prompt: heroic | aimanss…
  7. Daily Prompt: Heroic « cognitive reflection
  8. DP Daily Prompt: Heroic | Sabethville
  9. Daily Prompt: Heroic | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer
  10. 5 Year Old Hero – The Engine that could. | L5GN
  11. Heroic | Geek Ergo Sum
  12. Daily Prompt: Heroic | Finding Life
  13. The Portal – A Friday Flash Fantasy | My Little Avalon
  14. Heroic Visions | THE OVERCOMING
  15. Tail Business and Heroes! Daily Prompt… | alienorajt
  16. A Little Girl’s Hero « My journey to qualify for the Boston Marathon…and everything in between…
  17. Daily Prompt: Heroic | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  18. The Dad Who Didn’t Have To Be | theauthorwhoknows
  19. Daily prompt: Heroic | laura-in-china
  20. My Childhood Hero | all my likes
  21. My Dad, My Hero | A mom’s blog
  22. Daily Prompt – Hero. | My Beautiful Messed Up World.
  23. Even Heroes Can Wear Thin « Mon Cache
  24. Are You A Hero in Your Home? | Ako Si Ehm Blog
  25. The Dark Knight | Sébastien Grobelny – Photography
  26. Hanging with the Guys | Nicetomeetyou:I’mCourtney
  27. Daily Prompt: Heroic | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  28. Of becoming your own hero/ heroine. | Concentrate On Yourself
  29. Mr. Rogers Was My Hero
  30. Moon, Moon on the sky…….Watch Me Die | Shadows Of The Divine
  31. Daily Prompt: Heroic | Basically Beyond Basic
  32. My Heroes | Flowers and Breezes
  33. Still my hero | Life is great
  34. Heroic : My 5 Year Old Self. | ♥Barb’s Magical Land Of Oz♥
  35. Who Says Heroes Have to Wear Capes? | meanderedwanderings
  36. The Forgotten Hero | Dance with the Rain
  37. Lawrence of Arabia/Daily Prompt-Hero | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  38. MY HEROES WEAR MASKS – HI YO SILVER! THE LONG RANGER RIDE AGAIN! | SERENDIPITY
  39. babusya | peacefulblessedstar
  40. MY HEROES WEAR MASKS – THE LONG RANGER RIDE AGAIN! | SERENDIPITY
  41. Daddy | The Magic Black Book
  42. Still my hero | From Five to Fifty
  43. My First Post-marital Blog Post | Vagabond
  44. Five’s Hero.. | Relax
  45. A Father’s Enduring Love | Lisa’s Kansa Muse ~ Dreamy abstraction in a 100 year old Four Square Farm House
  46. Heroic | The Story of a Guy
  47. I don’t remember being five | dreaming of melville

13 thoughts on “Hero

  1. Tienny says:

    During my young years, my dad is my hero due to his honesty refusing to fight for his inheritance share. He chooses to work with his own hands rather than quarrel with his elder brothers. Inside his good looks, he is upright and honest.

    >

Leave a comment