NaNo 2016 Prep: To Do, or not to Do

nanowrimo_2016_webbanner_participant

This Year it’s all about astronauts and the stars 😀

What is, you ask?

Well, NaNoWriMo of course. For those of you who have never heard of it, it’s a  writing challenge where a group of wondeful and talented (aka, completely insane in my case) group of people attempt to write a novel of 50K words in only 30 days, during the month of November.

This year I’m  facing a delimma.

It would be my 4th NaNoWriMo this year, and I have every intention of taking part.

The problem is what to write?

You see, I’ve been thinking of this epic fantasy plot bunny for a while now, and I kind of like it.

On the other hand, it’s the final year of my Phd Program. Around November, I’m supposed to be writing the thesis itself.

So, should I attempt both projects?

My thesis should also be around the count of 50k, and the idea of getting the whole thing done in only 30 days would be an act short of miraculous (my lab mates took anywhere between 3 to 8 months for their first drafts).

Writing academically for me comes on a far different tempo than creatively. I take days to write the abstract, after reading at leat 3 to 4 related papers. Never mind creating the entire chapter of my Related Work, for the thesis, in only 30 days.

If anything, my word count would be my articles-read count.

For a novel, I’m a semi-pantser. I can write all I’m thinking fast, then get down to research later. For academics, not very intuitive, for me at least.

So, is it possible for poor old me to do her 50K, and take a try at starting her thesis? (Did I mention the gigantically-unkind-looking supervisor on each shoulder? They are in fact very nice people, except when I’ve failed a deadline, which is almost every couple of months)

I don’t know, but I really really want to try…*confused shrug*

Anyone out there thinking about doing NaNo this year?

Anyone has some experience with thesis writing?

Please share you thoughts, and advice, on the matter 🙂

3 thoughts on “NaNo 2016 Prep: To Do, or not to Do

  1. edohertyauthor says:

    I’m doing NaNoWriMo. I’ve done it 3 or 4 times, but this is my first year teaching, so I’m a little nervous I won’t have time, like you. I don’t think it would hurt to start NaNoWriMo, as long as you can make peace with the fact that you might not be able to finish it. That’s what I’m going to have to do, tell myself it’s okay if I don’t win this year.

    • seekingsomepeace says:

      You sure hit a nerve! I guess since I’ve won NaNo in all my past tries, the idea of not hitting 50K is what’s really worrying me most 😦
      Making peace sure isn’t easy, but it wouls solve the panicky little feeling I’m starting to get.
      Thanks for the great advice!

Leave a Reply

