February Shelf, Part II: The Commentary

collag_febe

Hi guys!

Welcome to part II of the February Book Shelf.

Today I’ll comment on my reads of the month 🙂 Do share your own opinions in the comment’s section!!

  1. Touch of Power, by Maria V. Snyder: Rating 5/5. This YA/fantasy was a lovely adventure. The heroine was A true pure soul, and I loved her. I’d love to read the remainder of the series though the ending to this book was fulfilling in a strange way. Set in a time of recovery from plagues and on the verge of unification wars, it was an insight to all those problems and human nature dark spots we face today, and everyday.
    10445208
  2. The Importance of Being Earnest, by Oscar Wilde: Rating 5/5. My first classic in a long time, as well as my first play since middle school. Funny, quirky, witty dialogue and hilarious characters. It was all I’ve heard of in regard to Mr. Wilde and more. It is a play, and a book that’s hard to imagine was written so long ago. If you’ve never read anything for Oscar Wilde, try this short loveliness, I think most people would enjoy it.
    92303
  3. The Last Hour of Gann, by R. Lee Smith: Rating 5/5. Ok, this one must be marked of one of the few mature-content reads I ever dared keep on my shelf. A long saga set on another planet with awfully human-souled aliens, it was in a few words disturbing, crazy, twisted and absolutely sick more than once. Violence and sexual abuse towards fellow-people, especially women told in a hauntingly familiar setting. Honestly, I can imagine our world going down that path, and can only hope we’ll find such good-hearted saviors then. I’m not one for inappropriate content, most of the time you can skip the whole and the story would remain intact, in this book however I could see why it was necessary to give the whole picture. Not advised for the weak of heart or stomach, but an absolutely wonderful, if rather long, read.
    18589656
  4. The Dutiful Rake, by Elizabeth Rolls: Rating 4/5. A romantic novel enjoyed in a certain type of hopeless romantic moods. If like me, you sometimes need a dose of silly easy romance, I advise you with this. I rather liked the book, though, I thought it was lacking to some point in character development and conflict. I read it in two settings, so it deserved the 4 stars.1429939
  5. Dorothy Must Die, by Danielle Paige: Rating 4/5. My long-awaited currently-reading book. A terribly haunting and twisted Dorothy in OZ-inspired story, this book proved a bit lagging for me. The story is lovely, and we begin to understand the heroine, Amy, much better as the story comes to the end of its first part. Still, it took an effort to finish it, and I hope the second installment would be faster. I did like the book, the heroine and the setting. All I can say is ‘WHAT HAPPENED TO DOROTHY?’18053060
  6. Pride and Prejudice, by Jane Austen: Rating 4/5. I’ve been putting off reading this book for a loooooong time. I’m not much into classics in general, and miss Austen’s style is a bit hard to grasp at times. Still, it was a polite and thoroughly enjoyable romance and view into the society of that time. I fear in many parts of the world, that outlook is still too similar. It was funny, sad and a bit slow-paced for my tastes at times but I have no regrets. I also saw the movie, and I must *shamefully* admit I liked it much better ;). It is a true everlasting story.
    1885

My currently-reading shelf has but one filled spot for ‘The Seven Habits of Highly Effective People’ by Stephen R. Covey. Maybe we’ll talk about it next month 😛

Till we meet again,

Be well, and don’t forget to comment!

yours, with love and books,

Seekingsomepeace.

 

 

Leave a Reply

