Reputation

Reputation

Hi guys!
How are you?
Enjoying the weekend?
I hope so 🙂

Well, yesterday’s prompt (I know I missed it, sorry) was about reputations.
There is a saying in my home (all that breaks can be fixed except your reputation. Once its broken it can never return to be the same)

I can’t really say I disagree.
I mean if someone lied to you once, each time they open their mouth you wonder if they are saying the truth.

The problem with this kind of social image is that it is not always true.
And when you tell someone that, they would say (No smoke without fire) or something of the like.

The worst of all is the damage people’s reputation receive when they are actually the victims.

I mean in many communities, a divorced woman is looked down to.

Especially if she is living in conservative community.
People would keep pointing at her, sending her harsh remarks of why she got divorced even when many of them know exactly what kind of hell she was in while married.

I think that people tend to make judgements and classify people as the culprits without care for the truth and sometimes despite the truth.

Put someone’s name as have been questioned about a certain crime in the headlines and he would be a possible suspect the first day then guilty the next.

They may call him innocent in a court house but his community would rarely care.

I wish we would all be more careful about the kind of things we listen to and believe. Because liars are everywhere, and there is smoke without fire.

You can check out what other bloggers are saying here :

  1. DAUGHTER, THANK YOU FOR ACCIDENTALLY DELETING THE CANDY CRUSH APP IN MY TABLET | DANDELION’S DEN
  2. Sliver of a Second | field of thorns
  3. Well, This Could Be Awkward | Ellen Maybe
  4. Daily Prompt: Blogger of Repute. | Lux
  5. Blogger of repute | the mess keeper
  6. Daily Prompt | Thoughts of an INFP
  7. A Few of My Favorite Things…. | Coffee Crumbs
  8. Daily Prompt: Reputation | Artful Homesteader
  9. What’s in a Moniker? | My Author-itis
  10. Zero to Hero Day 16: Make a Writing Prompt Your Own | The Dragon’s Lair
  11. One of My Reputations | Brian Mok
  12. His & Hers: A shifting definition of “reputation” | Lauren Kells
  13. You Don’t Have To Go Home, But You Can’t Stay Here | Shades of Teal
  14. Zero to Hero Challenge : Day 16 | Nicole Sloan’s Writing
  15. YOU RAISE ME UP | The Christian Gazette
  16. You Don’t Have To Go Home, But You Can’t Stay Here | Boxes
  17. #ZerotoHero: Day 16 – Daily Prompt… Make It Your Own | Jottings and Writings
  18. The Grapevine… | Forty, c’est Fantastique !
  19. Zero-To-Hero #16 – Daily Prompt | My Weary Mind
  20. Daily Prompt: Blogger of Repute | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  21. Not An Italian Leather Sofa | Anecdote Love
  22. Reputation Schmeputation — Zero to Hero day 16 | Cabin Pressure May Change
  23. Daily Prompt: Blogger of Repute
  24. You, Me and Bacardi | The Nameless One
  25. Zero To Hero Day 16: The Reputation Spectrum | Polymathically
  26. Reputation: Indicator of Society More Than Self | UpDownCharmedStrangeTopBottom
  27. confessions on reputations and being scared | life and loveliness
  28. Daily Prompt: Blogger of Repute | eyes like glass
  29. I have a Reputation | Break the mold
  30. Street Credit | Corned Beef Hashtag
  31. Whay You See | Jenn Lost in Chaos
  32. Day 16: Make a writing prompt your own | Words to the Wise or otherwise just words
  33. Extreme Anxiety | alienorajt
  34. #zerotohero Prompts — Make them Yours | pause 2 play
  35. Reputation | Ginger Haired Ape
  36. Zero to Hero + Daily Prompt: Blogger of Repute | A Hedonistic Wander
  37. My reputation | Beneath the veil
  38. What’s my Rep? | Alexia Jones
  39. hermit | yi-ching lin photography
  40. A Zero to Hero post: why I’m not grateful for reputations of any kind. | Life’s little mercies
  41. Reputations can be wrong | Branching Mama
  42. Reputation? Day 16 challenge… | Deb’s world
  43. To be Liked or Respected: That is the Question – Musings on reputation building | Marla’s Musings
  44. Character vs. Reputation | Yukta Kher
  45. Daily Prompt: Blogger of Repute | adorablyobnoxious
  46. Reputation – What’s that all about? | Fictional Creation
  47. Constipation! Day 16 zero to hero | Eclectic odds n sods
  48. Zero to Hero Day 16: Make A Writing Prompt Your Own | Seasons Change & I Do Too
  49. Beneath A Reputation | Jo Blogs Jo Bakes
  50. Daily Post: You | Destino
  51. Jane Austen and the importance of reputation | Cultural Life
  52. Wie man Reputation zerstört | LUTHERS JOURNAL
  53. Calling all Crazies: Freak Magnet Here | Awkward Laughter
8 thoughts on “Reputation

  1. Tienny says:

    The Bible does mention about this. It is important to find out the truth. People tend to have biases and see others in how they see themselves.

    >

    • seekingsomepeace says:

      I think most religions have lectured against this act, but how many of us do as we say we believe?

      It is true, we do see people as we are not as they are.
      Thank you for the comment, always a pleasure to talk with you 🙂

      • Tienny says:

        You are welcome. I have been trying to find out the truth to disprove the wrong perceptions. Some proves that I’m wrong whereas some proves right.

        It is a pleasure talking to you as well

  2. Susan Honthumb says:

    I’d like to believe that people learn from their mistakes. If someone lies to me, and admits to it, I try to cut that person some slack and hope they don’t do it again. I don’t think someone can early a hundred percent trust back immediately, but I think it can grow.
    One of the things that I really get frustrated is when you’ve known someone for a long time, perhaps family members are good examples of this, and they expect my behavior to be like it used to be. Perhaps I wasn’t very confident in my youth or perhaps I wasn’t very dependable, but those things change as I’ve grown, but the reputation sticks.

    • seekingsomepeace says:

      Well, if they do it just once, and admit to it then they are worth being cut some slack.

      I happen to shock people too, they seem to expect me to something else entirely. I can’t figure that out though, my clothes maybe?

Leave a Reply

