Should we change ourselves first?

“Yesterday I was clever, so I wanted to change the world. Today I am wise, so I am changing myself.”
― Rumi

So here it is folks, when we speak of change, there are many viewpoints.

Some think we should be doing our best to change the things we do not like in this world, while some think we should change ourselves first.

Here is what I think, it is not possible for a good change to happen in our world unless the change starts in us. If we stop accepting the bad things, the corruption and injustice in our lives then we are changing ourselves. And when every person does even a little of change to the better, the world will be slowly changing too.

We cannot change the world without changing the people, since we cannot change the people or force change upon them, we can only change ourselves and hope others will do the same 🙂

“Be the change that you wish to see in the world.”
― Mahatma Gandhi

3 thoughts on “Should we change ourselves first?

  1. Nina Kaytel says:

    I live in a town where racism is alive and well on both sides. I had black friends who parents objected to the idea of ‘having a white friend.’ When I first started using a wheelchair I parked to get gas, got it and when I went to get back in the car my chair rolled away. How many people sat and watched as I began to crawl to get the chair — countless. One man stopped though, a well-dressed (I mean church clothes) older black gentlemen got out his chair and not only insisted on helping me to my car (at this point I was cut up, dirty, and soaking wet from crawling on pavement) but got my chair for me. He stayed with me while I sobbed (into his nice suit), he bought me bandages for my cuts and made sure everyone in the parking lot know how deplorable they were. I vowed then and there to never judge anyone by skin-color. I didn’t change the racists around me, but in changing myself (though I never was extremely racist not a Aryan death to all blacks type.),I am better equipped to help teach my niece and nephew.

Leave a Reply

